Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Six Must Reads (so far) in 2016.

As many of you know, I joined the sixty book challenge back in January and pledged to read sixty books in 2016. I also said, I'd give myself some grace but was willing to fit reading back into my everyday life. Well, today, welllll before December, I've already read sixty books! Several have been picture books, but I'm excited that I've made time for reading. I can't thank my #BookJourney friends, amazing authors& teachers on social media, and Mr. Shu's Book Release Calendar for all the great books and recommendations! I'm so excited to continue my reading journey this year.
If you're following me on Instagram or Twitter, you know I've read several ARCs for some very anticipated books but I will save some of those for a later post. Today, I want to suggest six books that you can buy right now that are a must read in 2016!

Unputtdownable! I could not stop reading this book. Fans of The War that Saved my Life will enjoy this novel! I'm very interested to see how students react to this story. I thought the main character had such a strong and powerful voice. I was instantly lured into the story. Plus, the villain Betty -- she's a villain among all villains. A vile character that rivals Dolores Umbridge for appearing sickeningly sweet yet completely cruel!  The setting and historical fiction elements only add to the mystery and intensity of this story. I know my avid readers will enjoy the craft and suspense of this read. However, striving readers may find it difficult to sustain reading. There were several parts I saw glimmers of author Lauren Wolk's adult writing background & felt they were not as kid friendly. Yet, there is lots of Newbery buzz surrounding this novel. Definitely preview before giving to a middle grade reader!

Anything but just a robot story. Peter Brown crafts an imaginative story in which Roz, the robot, is stranded on a forested island. At first the animals are very judgmental of Roz. Weaving in themes of friendship, determination, and family, Peter Brown crafts a magnificent story. Roz eventually finds her place on the island and allows herself to become a bit more "wild." I loved, loved, loved this book. I would give more than five stars if possible. The short chapters and interesting characters make this book a fast read for any middle grade reader. Complex questions like - What is family? will keep even your highest readers engaged! Plus, the button! The button! I was nervous & hesitant reading that chapter!  There is even an entire chapter related to animals "doing their business" to help fertilize Roz's garden. What fifth grader doesn't want to learn more synonyms for poop?

Cherish your time with family & embrace change. This story is full of character, character, character! Thyme Owens is uprooted and moved to New York from California because her little brother has a rare cancer. Thyme will do anything for her brother but that doesn't mean being the new girl isn't hard. Thyme begins saving up "time" in order to hopefully buy her old life back. This story has such powerful voice. I instantly knew Thyme! From laugh out loud moments to tearful treatments, this book deals with tough issues in a clever and endearing way. Melanie Conklin deftly crafts a story that many middle grade readers will treasure for years to come! This story is timeless and has all the elements of an instant classic! Plus, so many wonderful & inspiring quotes for a graffiti wall!

If you wish hard enough, will it come true? This simple story has won over my heart. Set during Japanese Internment during WWII, the main character and her family are moved to a desert internment camp from their home in Washington. Sadly, the family must leave their dog Yujin behind. A dark time in American History as seen through the eyes of a young girl struggling to find her dog and her voice in this new home. This book is great for students that love nonfiction. Author, Lois Sepahban, has greatly researched this time period and shares additional links and websites at the end of the novel.


What if you could connect with loved ones that have passed away? Being a pretty avid reader, I'm not always shocked by plot twists these days. However, I was expecting a straightforward realistic fiction story about a young boy who has recently lost his mother to cancer. But this story, took a turn I was not expecting! Fans of The Nest and Coraline will love "creep" of this story. Charlie's story is sure to be a supernatural adventure that will keep readers reading! I'm glad I added this story to my Mock Newbery book club. A fresh look at grief and friendship. Can't wait to discuss this book and get student reactions to the twists and turns.

Kids will devour this graphic novel sequel! I haven't quite finished this one yet as I'll admit I'm not the fastest graphic novel reader. Something, I'm still training myself to do! However, within the first few pages, I instantly knew this would a HIT with my students. Starting of with a bang, Hilo's head is looking for the rest of his body! But wait... just as Hilo thinks life is finally becoming "normal" strange portals bring Viking Hippos and Killer Vegetables to earth! Will Hilo and his friends be able to save the whole wide world? Witty and clever this book is perfect for fans of  Big Nate and Amulet alike. This is a new series you'll want on your radar!

What is your middle grade must read of 2016?

Share:

21 comments

  1. I'm so proud of you! I was doing really well reading books when I was taking Accelerated Reader tests to try to beat my kids. As soon as I hit 1 million words, I stopped. I'm not quite sure why! I need to make some time this summer! xo
    Alison
    Rockin' and Lovin' Learnin'

    ReplyDelete
  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Never despair when faced with difficulties, because every drop of rain that comes clear out of a dark cloud.

    Obat Kolesterol Tradisional
    .

    ReplyDelete
  4. I will read these books as you suggested us and hope that it will help me ragarding academic papers writingbecause i need knowledge for that. But i have to get these books first of all and i know this is not easy task.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really appreciate this wonderful post that you have provided for us. I assure this would be beneficial for most of the people.
    - five nights at freddy's
    - five nights at candy's

    ReplyDelete
  6. Visitors of this page should be thankful to this writer because she tell them about some special books always. They will find these books really beneficial if they are running custom writing service because they will be able to collect precious knowledge like other readers do.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Such a nice post, keep providing good resources.
    - cool math games

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thank your site! information your share is useful to me! it's great that I known this site

    games for kids | happy wheels the game free | wings.io

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thank your site! information your share is useful to me! it's great that I known this site

    happy wheels | abcya

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post obat osteoarthritis herbal. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon. obat pendarahan akibat luka

    ReplyDelete
  11. I Like the post very much thank you for sharing this
    cupshe swimwear

    ReplyDelete
  12. http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338302 شركة تنظيف خزانات بالمدينة المنورة
    http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338181 شركات تنظيف بمكة
    http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338037 شركة مكافحة حشرات
    http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338031 شركة تنظيف بالدمام
    http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338030 شركة تنظيف بالمدينة
    http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338028 شركة تنظيف بالطائف

    ReplyDelete
  13. http://emc-mee.3abber.com/ شركات نقل وتنظيف
    http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338152 شركات نقل عفش بالطائف
    http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338038 شركات نقل عفش بالمدينة المنورة
    http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338040 شركات نقل عفش بمكة
    http://emc-mee.3abber.com/post/338301 شركات نقل عفش

    ReplyDelete
  14. شركة مكافحة حشرات بالاحساء
    So the ideal solution is to connect the fight against insects company to carry out its mission ... The field of domestic insects and insect kitchen counter workshops pesticide is very important not likely
    شركة تنظيف منازل بالاحساء
    Cleaning the house of the most important work experience during the day but the red tape and other business pressures may make him unpopular among many important because they require time and effort
    شركة تسليك مجارى بالاحساء
    Wiring ducts steps that easily enables them to get rid of the problem of clogging sewage and rapid response to the problem of clogging sewage company and it also
    شركة كشف تسربات المياه بالاحساء
    Detect water leaks company is a business unit of variety for the detection of water leaks that destroy the house has detected new water that can be integrated into devices
    شركة عزل اسطح بالاحساء

    ReplyDelete
  15. such a useful information and i liked this site there is huge information.
    Escorts Vasant Vihar

    ReplyDelete
  16. thank you for sharing! Can you sharing some updates on how you have made this powerful post! Can you sharing some updates on how you have made this powerful post! Obat Infeksi Saluran Kemih

    ReplyDelete
  17. I have visited your website.It is very interesting and impressive.Thanks for sharing with us such a brilliant article.I want to come again.Keep updated.
    Model Escorts Service Jaipur

    ReplyDelete

Please leave me some blogger love. Your comments give me great ideas for making this blog even better! -- Amanda

Design by Laugh Eat Learn // Theme by Pipdig